Why I Chose to Run


Several people have asked me why I decided to run for the House of Representatives in 2014. And I believe this merits a public statement.

In June of 2003, I stood in a room in Salt Lake City. An officer from the United States Air Force stepped in front of me and about seven other young men. She asked us to raise our right hands and we proceeded to recite the Oath of Enlistment. My life at that point began to change forever.

After doing a couple years in the Marine Corps as an infantryman, I began to ponder what my oath meant. I knew about the Constitution, but didn’t fully understand the document. What was I really swearing to defend?

I began to study a lot during any down time I got. I looked at books written in the late 1700, both pre and post revolution. I began to see the vision our Founders had. I read everything I could get my hands on. It wasn’t too long before I realized how far our country had come.

After reading so much, I could see the partisan blaming, finger pointing, and rhetoric. I soon also discovered that neither party was really doing what was right; mostly they were concerned with their own power and how best to get reelected. I was shocked.

My individual studies continued after I finished my contract with the military, and it wasn’t long before I realized if things continued as they were, the country I loved and fought for would be no more. I had to do something.

From that point on I was an activist for a restoration of our Republic. I called representatives, petitioned, attended rallies, and voted my conscience. I took every opportunity to educate others, wrote letters to the editor, and started blogging. It never seemed enough. I felt I wasn’t able to do nearly what was needed, and after the elections of Barack Obama, I watched in horror as every right paid for with the blood of patriots was being stripped away.

Before my eyes I was watching everything I stand for die. I tried doubling my efforts, wrote a book, pushed myself harder than ever and saw the small gains patriots were making, but it still wasn’t enough.

Finally, one night while talking to my dad, the man who taught me the values I have, I brought up that maybe I should run for office. He raised an eyebrow and asked me why. I proceeded to tell him essentially what I’m telling you now; I’ve had enough and need to do something.

You see, I love this country more than my own life. I was willing to put my life on the line to defend the ideals and liberties we have. Watching everything that has happened has broken my heart. Tears fill my eyes as I write this, feeling the pain of what we are losing.

But Marines never quit. Since my letters and petitions weren’t enough, I would throw myself into the ring. I know I am running against an incumbent, and one who is fairly popular. I know without the backing of a party my odds are slimmer. But I cannot stand by for another day as politicians destroy our Constitution.

I fully believe that if my ideas are looked at seriously, we can turn the tide. Even if I don’t make it, at least people will hear my pleas on behalf of a beleaguered nation. Maybe they can even make it to the House floor if enough people cry out that we have had enough.

I want to win. I believe I can. And I know that no matter the outcome, good will happen. I have faith in the people. I have faith that God does not want to see us in ruin. I know that what is happening is wrong.

Edmund Burke is quoted as saying “All that is necessary for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing.” I know I am a good man, and I will not stand by and let this happen. I just can’t do it. That is why I will speak the hard truths instead of the comfortable lies. I don’t expect to be popular in the DC crowd. But I have to do this or face the anguish of having not fought.

I ask you to support me in my campaign. I cannot promise you an easy answer. I will not say I can fix this over night, but I will promise one thing: I would give my dying breath to see this country well again. To see my children and grandchildren experience the freedoms our Constitution guarantees. I will do everything I can to fight back and show what it means to uphold and oath.

May God be with us in our darkest hours and see us through to the end. May he bless America and renew our spirit. Amen.

One response

  1. Please feel free to delete this after you read it, okay?
    Yes, keep sending out articles like this BUT! First, let people know how you think and feel about each subject matter by doing a commentary on various issues first.
    Get them interested in YOU on this blog. Just campaigning isn’t going to cut it at this point. IF you have at least 10-12 people that enjoy and are stimulated by your attitudes, ideals, ethics about what is going on…then they will spread your name for you.

    1) The invasion of Muslims in Our Country:
    2) Obama and others “ignoring” the slaughter of Christians in the Middle East;
    in that blog post, you can offer where you do and will stand on the issue;
    3) At this time, it looks like the illegals issue has already been decided “for us” vs. a plan to keep them out (I do have one already drawn up and have for 3-4 yrs. IF you want it, let me know.
    4) What would be your plan to completely stop the mass immigration of Muslims here (by the time you run for office, there will be masses already here…CANNOT placate to them as is being done now. Must make it clear, they WILL NOT have special privileges but are joining the American Population where freedom of speech and religion are paramount.
    5) What is your plan to stop the racism in this country where Blacks have a severe upper hand. What would you do to stop the chaos and the conflict?

    You can have all of these subject matters discussed on blogs; however, if the site is just you campaigning, people won’t stay too long.

    Let them get to know you first.
    Just a thought…My background:

    I worked for the City of Dallas in the Department of Planning and Development.
    I was the administrative assistant to the Director of Planning and Development.
    I also worked for the City Attorney’s Office.
    I trained the black population for the City of Dallas Police Department Personnel Office in how to do background checks on applicants for the police department.

    I had my own business (and it was VERY successful) in promoting, managing, and owning nightclubs in Dallas, TX. Sound easy? NO….I have very strong management skills, promotion, public relations; negotiation. I also promoted, managed six restaurants/hotel clubs (Larkin Inc., owner of 6 hotels in the Dallas/Ft Worth area) which takes a “people knowledge”…what motivates people.

    Bottom line on what I am saying? Get your blog going first….and you can announce your intentions…but no one is going to come here to read you talking about your run for office at this time….you can make it known…but basically build a base first so that they can spread the word about you.

    Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

