Candidate Analysis – Marc Allan Feldman


feldmanportrait2smallNext in our series analyzing the candidates seeking the Libertarian Party nomination is an anesthesiologist from Ohio, Dr. Marc Allan Feldman.

Dr. Feldman has described himself as someone who wasn’t really involved in the political realm for the majority of his adult life in regards to voting. His first vote cast, being for himself in the 2010 election, where he ran as a Libertarian candidate for Ohio Attorney General, garnering over 100,000 votes. He has realized the dangers posed by the two party system and sees the Libertarian Party as having the potential to do a great good., As part of his campaign has promised that his vote is not for sale, but more so, that your votes aren’t for sale either.  To demonstrate this approach, he has pledged to not accept any donations over $5.00, a unique proposition for any candidate in a race, but one he believes will reach out to those who are disenfranchised with the way politicians are bought by the highest bidder.

The good doctor has taken an interesting approach in seeking the nomination to say the least. From his hip hop throw down in the debate in Texas, to suggesting Kanye West as a running mate, he has certainly brought an interesting aspect to this race.  While I personally scratch my head at the way he has been running things (having run myself for Congress), I give the man props for thinking outside the box in his attempts to reach out and appeal to voters.

Marc’s platform/plans are also a little more unique, and outside of the box. Every candidate I’ve ever heard speak has promised a “balanced budget,” but Dr. Feldman’s approach has 12321451_10207033978786605_3655188323180602834_nbeen a little bit different, including his matching tax credit plan to reduce the amount each person has to pay in taxes. I am not sure how well it would work per se, but seeing someone thinking outside the typical box is a good thing in my opinion.

I will admit that I was very skeptical, and even highly critical of him in the beginning of the campaign season, but as time has gone on, he has definitely shown some great talent to produce ideas.

A couple downsides I do see to Dr. Feldman’s campaign are that I am not sure just how realistic it can be with a maximum donation of $5. While I applaud the stance, I question the practicality.  I also could not support his suggestion for Vice President. It is an entertaining notion, but when it comes to being the President, I think there needs to be a measure of seriousness involved. For one, I do not believe he will add to the discussion of spreading liberty, though I am not 100% sure of his political alignment. We need someone who isn’t going to steal a microphone in the middle of a speech to degrade someone else.  We need someone who can articulate what libertarianism is and how it could benefit the American people.  There are also concerns of West’s fiscal management, as he is reportedly millions in debt.

Over all, I find Dr. Feldman to be a great guy, with his heart in the right place. He certainly thinks outside of the box, which is sorely needed in politics.  I also like the unique perspective a doctor might bring to the White House. He could certainly change things for the better, but I worry that he could destroy chances of being taken seriously as a Party in the future.

To find out more about Dr. Marc Allan Feldman, head over to www.votesnotforsale.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

